Oatmeal Pancakes (using leftover oatmeal)

Last year I discovered the secret to making overnight steel cut oatmeal in my crockpot. The only issue was that, once made, there were always more leftovers than I could deal with. (That’s the catch with crockpot cooking–you have to have the pot more than half full, so unless you have a little crockpot, you’re out of luck on that.) I love the stuff–but at a certain point you’re just like “Please make it go away!”

Still, if you’re going to go through the hassle and time to make steel cut oatmeal, might as well just do it, and make a lot, and use the leftovers well.

Of course, depending on how many people in your family eat oatmeal, and how much they eat, you may not have that problem at all.

But anyway–this morning for breakfast I made Oatmeal Banana Pancakes out of leftover cooked steel cut oatmeal (though I’m sure ordinary rolled oats oatmeal would work just fine) and a couple of too-ripe bananas. This is one seriously healthful recipe–full of really good stuff, almost completely absent of any calories not worth their weight. And it’s delicious.

(This recipe is cobbled together from a whole mess of other recipes; I honestly have no idea whom to even credit or link to here.)

**********

Oatmeal Banana Pancakes (made with leftover oatmeal)

In a bowl mix:

  • 1 cup cooked oatmeal (steel cut or rolled, whatever. The icky instant stuff would probably work too, but…why?)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 1/2 or so cups milk, plus extra at the end as needed for consistency. (can omit the yogurt and instead do 2 cups milk.)
  • 3 tbs melted butter or neutral oil (could honestly be omitted, but then they stick to the pan and don’t taste as good.)
  • 2-4 tbs honey, to taste (optional–if you live with people who will use lots of maple syrup anyway, just skip it.)
  • 1-2 cut up overripe bananas or a chopped and grated apple or both or neither or some other fruit.

Add (you’re supposed to mix all this in a separate bowl and then add it, but I honestly never do):

  • 2 cups white whole wheat flour, or some combination of white and whole wheat or honestly whatever you have
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • If you want to be evil, toss in 1/4 cup chocolate chunks and forget what I said about how this recipe is almost devoid of empty calories.

Cook as you would any pancakes. Eat.

**********

Verdict: Seriously good. Superior. My kids raved more than they do about the basic almost-all-white flour ones I used to make all the time.  They are moister than the traditional pancakes, but just as fluffy; I have a feeling they will become the master pancake recipe from here on out even if I have to cook some oatmeal expressly for this purpose. Really really good.

Variation: there’s no reason you couldn’t make some delicious flavored kind of oatmeal in your crockpot and make that into these pancakes just as easily. For example, the Pumpkin Spice Oatmeal I love to make in the crockpot overnight would be delicious in these pancakes. (Or you could just substitute some pureed pumpkin for some of the milk in the above recipe, I’m sure. Or applesauce. Or whatever).

So…Bon appetit!

Posted on April 15, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. These are really, really good! My new favorite pancake recipe!

  2. I found this recipe by searching for a use for leftover oatmeal. This recipe is a very good way to use leftover oatmeal. These pancakes taste better than the whole wheat ones that I usually make. In fact, yesterday I purposely made much more oatmeal than I could eat so that I could make these pancakes today! And, this recipe makes a lot of pancakes. The first time I made it, I doubled the recipe because I had two cups of oatmeal and I wanted leftovers. I got so many pancakes that my husband and I ate them for four days, and enjoyed them all. I make it without the fruit, since I haven’t had any when I decide to make these pancakes and they are still excellent.

  3. Have you ever seen the oatmeal that trader joe’s sells? They seriously sell two ice cream scoop sized balls of frozen oatmeal for $2.50. If you’ve got a ton of leftover oats, consider chilling them for a few hours so they firm up, then scoop balls of firm cereal onto parchment paper and freeze them rock hard. Once they’re solid, you can put them into a container, take out as many as you need and warm them up for a near instant breakfast… and I guarantee you it won’t be 1.25 a serving.

  4. Sandra–I don’t know why I never thought of that; I got that frozen oatmeal once and thought it was good but SO not worth the cost…this is a great idea, either the scooping balls like you said here or putting them in muffin tins to freeze…I will totally try this this winter.

  5. So I soaked some oats to make oatmeal, and when we got up, my sweet boy asked for pancakes. This recipe was great. I was able to use my soaked oats (almost two cups worth) and because the recipe explained how to substitute so well, we used whole wheat, white, and almond flour, and bananas, and applesauce, and half and half (we needed to use it up) and they were fluffy and substantial, and we have batter left over. Thanks!

  1. Pingback: Oatmeal pancakes using leftovers | Robin's JOY

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 532 other followers

