Daily Archives: January 29, 2012

Adventures in Baking

Okay, wow, I’m falling down on the blogging job.

School is really intense right now, and I just don’t have time to read┬áthe stuff that usually gives me things to blog about, and I don’t have time to do┬áthe stuff that makes for interesting blog accounts, so there’s just not much…happening on the green front.

But I just had one small thing this morning, more a puzzlement than anything else…

I made a half recipe of my Bundt Cake of Endless Autumnal Substitution, only in half recipe form it fits into a 9×9 square pan. I used pumpkin that I’d frozen from the autumn, and brown sugar since I am out of white. (In hindsight, I should have tried honey; that would have been delicious.)

But when I was halving things, somehow along the way I forgot to halve the baking soda, baking powder, and salt (though I always halve the salt anyway). You know, those ingredients thay always tell you are absolutely crucial to measure correctly?

So in the end, the cake has twice the leavener it’s supposed to.

It’s a little salty-tasting (the salt itself combined with the sodium bicarbonate from the baking soda), but not horrible. Very edible. Not something I’d serve to guests, but the kids will be taking it in their lunches this week.

Seems bizarre to me; once I realized what I’d done I figured it would be an outright disaster. But oh well…lesson learned! Never try to bake at breakfast time when people are talking to you and wandering around the kitchen.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 532 other followers