Daily Archives: November 28, 2010

Okay, the weekend is past…did anyone fly?

Normally at this time of year I’m realizing that I haven’t yet bought my plane tickets to go back East to visit my folks at Christmas.

This year I find I don’t even want to fly.  The horror stories about the new TSA rules and things that happen to people who choose not to walk through the full-body x-ray machine–whether because of personal dignity or concern about how safe this skin-penetrating radiation really is–are enough to put me off it completely. If it were just me, I’d probably suck it up and just go…but I don’t want to put my kids through either the machine or the full-body pat-down. Hell, if we’re trying so hard to make sure they know that no adult should ever touch them without their permission, how can we then take them through a security checkpoint and risk exactly that?

So I keep reading…I read about the breastfeeding mother who was detained more than an hour at the checkpoint, without explanation, missing her flight, by TSA agents refusing to even honor their own guidelines, which she’d brought with her. I read about the flight attendant cancer survivor who had to remove her prosthetic breast to show to the agent.  I read post after post about women who leave those checkpoints feeling violated and assaulted.  And I just don’t want to go.  I don’t like to fly anyway; this is enough to just make me decide I just don’t need to go anywhere if I can’t drive there.

So…did anyone fly anywhere this week? What was it like? Am I just succumbing to internet hype? Is it significantly different now?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 555 other followers