Eating Down the Fridge 2: Bourbon Bread Pudding

Okay, leave it to me two days after Thanksgiving to make MORE sweet-goodies, but we’re having a football party tomorrow afternoon (the only Sunday Bears game in the season that starts at 3:15, instead of noon, which is just about when we get home from church) with my husband’s co-workers, so we need stuff to serve them that isn’t obviously Thanksgiving-y, and I still have some stuff to get rid of.

All year long I save the heels of my bread loaves, cut them into cubes, and freeze them.  They get pulled out periodically for bread pudding and Thanksgiving turkey stuffing.  This year I accidentally thawed about 4 cups of cubes more than I needed (that’ll teach me to eyeball!), and I didn’t know what to do with the rest of them.  So I made bread pudding.

This is another classic Jenn really-speedy-not-much-fat-better-for-you-than-it-seems kind of recipe. I haven’t made it in years, but now that I tried it again I realize I should do it more.

*****

Bourbon Bread Pudding

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Put 4 cups stale bread cubes into a casserole dish (preferably one with a heavy glass lid you can use to cover it–I use my white Corningware round one.) They shouldn’t come all the way up to the top; a good inch or so at least of “head space” is helpful, because this stuff puffs as it cooks.
  • If desired, add 1/2 cup raisins, currants, or dried cranberries to bread cubes
  • Whisk two eggs till bright yellow and foamy; whisk in 1/3-1/2 cup sugar (brown is nice).
  • Add 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1 tbs vanilla extract. Mix well.
  • Add 3 cups milk and 1/3 cup bourbon (or other booze) and beat till well combined. (I did the last 3 steps right in my 4 cup Pyrex measuring cup–the eggs and sugar together made about 1 cup, then I added the 3 cups of milk.  The bourbon on top of that still had us a good bit from the top.)
  • Pour over bread cubes.  When I do this, the 4 cups of bread and the 4 cups of custard take up about the same amount of space in the casserole, so I still have the inch or so of head space at the top.  Moosh down bread so it soaks up the custard.
  • Cook, covered, in a 350-degree oven for about an hour. Let it cool before digging in, however lovely it smells.

*****

Obviously, any hard spirit will work equally well in this recipe–rum, brandy, Jamisons, whatever–and I’m sure you could leave it out all together and add a little more spice and vanilla. But it’s very easy.  And yummy. And it makes me want to pour some of the Pioneer Woman’s Whiskey Maple Cream sauce over it when I serve it, though I don’t know that I’ll have time to make it…maybe I’ll just drizzle some cranberry sauce over it instead, also leftover…only I re-boiled it with a little bourbon and cinnamon to complement the pudding.  It’s all I can do not to just stand there and eat it with the spoon, guests be damned.

Posted on November 27, 2010, in cooking, recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 554 other followers

