Black Friday Challenge: Buy Nothing

I saw this post over on Tree Hugging Family and think it’s a great idea: Buy Nothing Day 2009.  Protest rampant and crazed consumerism, avoid mob ugliness, and save a few particles of CO2, all by…doing exactly nothing.

Honestly, it’s not a stretch for us–while I was growing up my family has had a longstanding tradition of not ever going anywhere near a store on the day after Thanksgiving. Okay, we would go near a store in order to get to the movie theater where we always saw something the whole family could agree on at about noon or whenever the cheaper shows were, but we always also looked for the movie theater that was not near the mall.

Now that I’m an adult with my own family, we are usually either visiting with my folks the day after Thanksgiving and preparing for a long drive back to Chicago on Saturday, or we are at our own home and digging out the Christmas decorations.  In a way, even in this “It’s the day after Halloween put up the wreaths” culture, it feels too early for us, but on the other hand both of us get so busy once December hits that it just makes sense to put up the lights and tree and stuff on this one blessed Day Off when no one has to be anywhere and no one is going shopping.  What others call Black Friday has always for me been a day of family and domesticity and puttering, and it’s honestly one of my favorite days of the year.

So…I guess the only way I can support this initiative, since I’ve supported it without knowing about it for as long as I remember, is to blog about it and offer a challenge to anyone else who might long for a little slow simplicity the day after Thanksgiving (for those who have the option,which I realize many don’t. We’re lucky this year): Stay home.  Sleep in.  Wear jammies till noon.  Have pie for breakfast and turkey sandwiches for lunch while the turkey stock simmers in the crockpot.  Watch a movie; watch a ball game.  Take the day off. 

Enjoy.  And give thanks all over again.

Posted on November 26, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Pardon my ignorance, but what is Black Friday? I suspect it’s an American thing and I am from Australia. I’m guessing it’s something to do with lots of people going out shopping?? I’ve heard a couple of mentions of Black Friday around the blogs and I’m curious as to what it is.

  2. greenmomintheburbs

    I’m so glad it’s not worldwide; it’s one of our more vulgar national traditions. The day after Thanksgivings, stores open ridiculously early, sales are (from what I hear) really steep and many good deals are to be had, and apparently folks all over the country get up at the crack of dawn so they can be at the stores first thing and shop like crazy. I have found the whole idea sort of appalling since even before I hit on the whole anti-consumerism thing, but now even more so…

    Anyone else? What about Canada, do they do it there?

  3. yep doesn’t happen in Canada either. I actually learned about it a few years ago- because people always die. I honestly thought it was called ‘black’ friday because of how each year someone gets trampled to death….
    but really iT’s because so many people shop that companies go from ‘in the red’ to ‘in the black’

    Crazy.

  4. hah= reading that seems a bit misleading- so to clarify, it does not happen in Canada lol

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 551 other followers

