Daily Archives: September 19, 2009

Attack of the Killer Mutant Zukes, Part VI–Zucchini bread!

I said at the beginning of this series that I would not post a recipe for zucchini bread unless I found one that was a) really yummy and b) used up a heckuva lot of zucchini in the making.  Today I think I hit on one that’s worth posting here–it’s adapted from one I found at recipezaar, but I’ve tweaked it quite a bit. (The original is very yummy too, just didn’t use up enough squash! With a few other changes in the recipe, I was able to double the amount of zucchini from the original.)

LOTZA ZUKES ZUCCHINI BREAD RECIPE

Ingredients

  • 2 cups sugar (I used light brown, but white would work)
  • 3/4  cup vegetable oil, or 1/2 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup oil
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 4 cups shredded zucchini (yes, that’s 4 cups!)
  • 1/3 cup orange juice (I’m sure substitutions would work here)
  • 3 cups flour (I used 2 of white, 1 of whole wheat; your choice. Whole wheat will be denser and not as light.)
  • 2 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt (could reduce if desired)
  • 3/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 3/4 teaspoon ginger
  • 3/4 teaspoon allspice
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 cup raisins or nuts (optional)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350*.

In large bowl, mix sugar, oil, eggs, and vanilla.

Beat until well blended.

Add zucchini and orange juice; stir well.

Combine flour with next 5 ingredients; Add to zucchini mixture; stir well. (Do not overmix)

Add nuts; stir gently to combine.

Pour into 2 greased and floured 9in loaf pans. (I actually used one loaf pan and one 9×9 baking pan; these were of course a bit thinner, and they baked a bit faster.)

Bake for about 60 minutes; till toothpick comes out clean.

Let cool in pans 10 minutes.

Remove from pans and let cool completely.

Note: If you need to disguise the presence of a Green Vegetable, you might want to peel the zukes before grating them.  The taste is lovely, but the dark green flecks of skin will totally give you away if you leave them there.  (My children, thus far, have been fairly easy to dupe.  My son eats to fast to notice, and my daughter, who’s a little more suspicious, asked me today, “Mommy, is the green stuff made of herbs?” Fortunately, she thinks of herbs as a good thing.) Also, this is a recipe where those old huge tough zukes are probably better than the juicier tender ones–you want a fairly coarse grate and dry-ish pieces, rather than something finer and moister, or the balance of liquids and solids in the recipe gets out of whack.  I was a little nervous about adding so much squash to this, but it did really well and isn’t heavy at all.

My son says: “This is, like, the best spice cake I’ve ever had!” (Spice cake, we call it. Not zucchini bread. Spin is everything.)  And asked for a second slice. I told him casually, “Well, okay, I guess you can have another. See, that’s the good thing about when I give you snacks that have healthy stuff in them, I’m lots more likely to let you have seconds on it, because I know it has good things in it. ”  One day he will examine it more closely and the jig will be up and he’ll realize he’s been eating VEGETABLES in his cake, but until then we’ll leave it alone.

(UPDATE: I don’t know how I missed this before, but there’s a very promising looking recipe on the Enlightened Cooking blog–hers uses less zuke than mine, but also less oil, with yogurt as the partial substitute…)

The full Giant Mutant Zucchini series:  Part I, Part II, Part III, Part IV, Part V, and Part IV.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 555 other followers